1. Hotmail block emails from us entering your inbox. Unless you can setup a safe sender you will not get activation emails from the forum. Please use an alternative provider or complain to Hotmail.
    Hotmail addresses include.

@Hotmail.co.uk @Hotmail.com @outlook.com @Live.com
    Dismiss Notice

Pest control (Rats) - Gun Recommendations

Discussion in 'Hunting' started by Dave H-A-B, Feb 25, 2007.

1. Dave H-A-B

Dave H-A-B Newbie

Hello,

I fired a few air rifles as a kid but otherwise I'm a complete novice. I'm looking for a reasonably priced rifle (£150 max) suitable for pest control (rats in the back garden).

I was looking at the Crossman Ratcatcher but I'd appreciate any recomendations on model, shop/website to buy from & any accessaries you may recommend (laser site etc).

Thanks!

2. Mick Dundee

Mick Dundee Engaging Member

Ratting.

Don't waste money on a Co2 gun if you're serious about rats. (my opinion) A BSA lightning in .22 or , MY new discovery, Weihrauch 99S for £147 at
    JSRs.is better. Got a big rat yesterday with mine and it's a . 177!

3. Fog

Fog Engaging Member

I will say again....'Try before you buy'. If the salesman says 'No' walk away.
    But most will and most will call you back. There are so many out there that are very similar, hunting is also down to comfort. You should think of this when deciding:)

4. liedownsnap

liedownsnap Newbie

In my humble opinion......
    rats need hitting in specific areas, ie head, neck, between the front legs from the front.
    They are tough little creatures and body shots usually result in them getting back down their holes.
    I've recently moved to the kiddies caliber :) and am having more instant kills, presumably because I'm being more accurate???
    Cheers.

5. bsa_hunter

bsa_hunter Guest

Lightning .22 kills them everytime I hit them, awesome full power gun.

6. custom100

custom100 Well-Known Member